Tone Tip (1)

This is my first post and I plan on showing my audience a little trick I assumed everyone who played knew.  While in college I learned that there is a number of people who keep the same tone while playing chords and notes.  This trick mainly applies to acoustic guitar.  The type of guitar you play with is a base for what tone you receive.  If you play with a Taylor guitar, you usually receive a much higher in tone sound.

In this tutorial I will show you how to produce a much higher tone by moving where you strum closer to the bridge/saddle.  You can also create a more harmonic sound if you strum or pick closer to the 12th fret from where you play.

I will demonstrate by playing The House of the Rising Sun by The Animals (1964)

Here are the tabs for The House of the Rising Sun by the Animals (1964).

____________________________

So you know why I have chosen this song, here is the song so you can hear the type of tone it has.     –     The Animals ^

For those who do not know how to read tabs, you can learn easily from this tutorial created by Kevin Burke who is a talented guitar tutor from the UK.

I also want to note that I messed up on Bob Dylan’s – Don’t Think Twice it’s Alright in the tone tip tutorial.  Kyle Simokovich and I did a cover of that song and he posted the video to his personal YouTube account :


Weekly Challenge

Learn the RIFF of the week and SOLO of the week

The weekly riff I challenge you to learn is a finger-picking acoustic version of Kids by MGMT.

____________________________

The weekly solo I challenge you to learn is To be with You by Mr. Big.

____________________________

For a bonus, here is Under the Sea Fingerstyle thanks to my FAVORITE guitar tutor Assaf Levavy who I discovered on YouTube.

____________________________


I hope my tip will help improve your playing and if you want more tricks and tips you can SUBSCRIBE in the upper-right hand corner.

Leave comment below if you have any questions or requests of tutorials, riffs, or solos.

– Josh Yager

One thought on “Tone Tip (1)

  1. Josh,
    I really enjoyed this post. I like the fact that you have a challenge of the week, but have you considered figuring out a way to pick a winner of the challenge and maybe featuring their video on the next week’s blog post?
    -Jenna Francis

    Like

Leave a Reply

